Getting to know what is inside a Salesperson’s head

I am attending a training session today and tomorrow for one of our sales group on some of our most important products. I think its great for a software marketer to not only understand the products that their company has, but to more importantly hear from the sales folks who are in the trenches selling the stuff. Alot of great ideas can be spawned from these folks about creative ways to market or even message the product for them.

While I don’t have a ton of opportunities to do this sort of thing, I find it refreshing and energizing to sit in the back of the room as the “token marketing guy” to glob ideas from these folks.

If you don’t talk with sales people in your marketing role and try understand their pain or issues in selling as well as the folks that they sell too, you are missing out and I encourage you to get to know “your other customer”

Technorati Tags:
, , , ,

Del.icio.us Tags:
, , , ,

