Email Formats: SMS

There was a great article that iMedia Connection published today about the 3 different types of email messages being sent today: promotional, newsletter and SMS.

At my current organization we spend plenty of energy on sending out promotional emails, a fair amount of time on the newsletter end but very little if any on the SMS types of messaging. I am currently writing a email marketing strategy brief for 2008 and am particularly interested in solving how we can start to adapt to sending messages to mobile devices. Aside from the plain text aspect of mobile messaging, is there any technology out there that is specific or meant for mobile SMS messaging? We currently run lyris in house and send all of our messages in MIME format, but I am thinking that this is not enough. When I see our messages on my Blackberry and messages from other sources, there is still work to be done in my opinion.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , ,

Del.icio.us Tags:
, , , , , , , , ,

