Twitter….for business?

There is an article today written by Brian Watson over at CIO insight about how Twitter can be the next cool thing for business communications. According to the article “Though not designed for business, the Twitter micromessaging system could work well for distributed teams and in-conference environments”

I completely disagree with this. I managed a distributed team and I see no value in anyway for them to use Twitter to communicate with me. Call me old or not cutting edge, but what is wrong with the phone, email or even IM to communicate? The very notion of having another platform from which to communicate with a distributed is a bit ridiculous.

If you manage a distributed team or if you have an opinion on this, please let me know, cause I see no value in Twitter in a business setting.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , ,

