# 64 in the Cluetrain Manifesto

I have blogged about this before, so I thought I would bring up another favorite of the 95 theses from the Cluetrain Manifesto.

64. We want access to your corporate information, to your plans and strategies, your best thinking, your genuine knowledge. We will not settle for the 4-color brochure, for web sites chock-a-block with eye candy but lacking any substance.

How many software companies can claim to do this today? Ummmm none…..I don’t see it and if you do, please let me know. When are companies going to wake up and smell the coffee and learn about transparency? When are some going to learn that collaboration works and without some companies will wither and die?

The average IT software buyer doesn’t care or want to know how great you think you are. They want to know what you can do to solve their problems. They want to know if your solution won’t cause them anymore problems. They want/need to hear from those on the inside in a genuine sort of way. They want a trusted vendor, one who is willing to stick with them thru thick and thin. Sorta like a way a marriage should work…communication being the key and most important aspect to a marriage. Sure…your stuff may look all sexy on the web, but talking is one thing.

Some of the best software out there comes from companies who don’t pound their chest about every little thing. They give me access to their folks and let me participate in a real honest to goodness dialogue with them. They don’t frown on me when I mention their competition, they give me a plain and simple answer.

Wake up software vendors..the alarm has been ringing…don’t press the snooze button anymore cause soon you will be late for the party.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Del.icio.us Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

