Expand your senses in marketing…

I was driving my son this morning to summer camp and noticed something that perplexes me. First off, this morning in the Chicago area it was 70 degrees and sunny, which I would consider a darn near perfect morning. On my short drive, I saw 5 convertibles all of which had their tops and windows rolled up. Great weather mornings in Chicago are not as prevalent as in Southern California, so I am totally confused as to why someone would invest in a convertible and not bother to put the top down on such a gorgeous morning. On a day like today, I would love to feel the warmth of the sun and the cool breeze.

In software marketing its the same thing. Why use stale techniques and close yourself off from the rest of the world when the landscape and environment is so beautiful. In marketing, you need to try something new and smell the smells and experience the warmth and excitement of something fresh. Sure, sometimes you might get burned..but it pains me to no end when people in marketing do not want to put the top or windows down to experience something new.

Don’t buy your car if your not going to use it the way it was intended. Consequently, don’t sit around a marketing meeting wondering why your latest campaign didn’t work cause you failed to let in fresh air or fresh new ideas.

Technorati Tags:
, , , ,

