How do you want to be remembered?

I was speaking with my sons teacher this morning about working in general. She was telling me that she has been with the current company that owns my sons private kindergarten for about 13 years. Her benefits are great and she gets almost 6 weeks of vacation, but feels guilty or made to feel guilty if she ever wants to use them.

I talk to alot of people in business. Some are working so hard: traveling, late nights, weekends and it seems like it never ends. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t work a 40 hour week..heck none of us do, but one thing I always tell folks is that I never ever let my work interfere with spending time with my family. A healthy work/life balance is essential to mental health and I would rather earn 35% less to maintain that sanity.

Here is something to ponder…..when you die and someone is giving your eulogy….what do you want them to say about you? How do you want to be remembered? I would find it really disturbing if they said “Andrew was a tireless worker, he was always there for the company and never let us down…(then they proceeded to say) and oh..by the way he was also a great husband and father and friend”

Take time to relax…slow down and don’t think for a minute that work is more important than everything else. In a blink of an eye, life will pass you by. Be remembered for who you want to be…but know this….no one really cares if you were the best employee in the world if you have nothing to show for it but office time, your blackberry and promotions. Be a great employee, but be a greater spouse, friend, son, daughter, father, mother etc…..your eulogy will thank you.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , ,

