Eloqua. Education and thought leadership.

Last year we evaluated Eloqua. I really like their application as it really does a ton when it comes to relationship marketing as well as being able to utilize it as a marketing DB to track all sorts of neat things. I recently read a white paper titled “The 10 biggest mistakes that marketers make”from them that I found quite interesting. However, one of the things that rubs me the wrong way is that within an hour or so of downloading the white-paper (which by the way is over 40 pages) I get an email asking about re-engaging with them. Granted, I believe that we have a need, but wouldn’t you think I would contact them if I wanted to re-engage with them? Does downloading a white paper automatically signal to people that I am ready to look at their solutions again?

I appreciate follow-up from time to time from companies that I deal with, but sometimes you have to let us breathe when we decide to grab a nugget. I think alot of companies suffer from the “if you get something from us, that automatically means you are interested in something” I am a firm believer in education and I often preach to those folks within our own marketing organization, that it sometimes is not all about lead generation and revenue. If you are a true leader in the industry, I believe that there is a certain amount of education that needs to happen to your customers or potential customers to prove to them that you truly care about their needs and wants. If you don’t provide fresh educational content from time to time, you run the risk of being portrayed in the market place as a company who is nothing more than going after the next sale.

I guess my point in all of this is that sometimes before I come to your party, I want to get to know you better. I want to know what you have to offer other than just a great party (or product in this case) Yes, I can come to your party (if I dont know you well and learn more) but in this case I need to spend money for a cover charge.

Anyway..its Friday….so have a great weekend.

Technorati Tags:
, , ,

