Is your email marketing a “10”

I just read a post on the marketingsherpa.com blog by Anne Holland about companies ranking their own email marketing.  There was not one company that ranked themselves a 10,9 or even 8.  In fact, Anne rated marketingsherpa’s efforts a 3.5.  The posting is a great posting for all of us who engage in email marketing and it outlines some of the common barriers or hurdles that we as professional marketers have when it comes to email marketing.  Quest does engage in quite a bit of email marketing and I would rank us a 3 out of 10.  We like some of these other companies face similar challenges with IT, deliverability, integration with our CRM and web analytics.  However, I and a handful of others are the only ones that see the issues.  To some, things are just great due to the results that my team produces.  Again, email marketing is judged not by the metrics or analysis or integration with certain systems yet we are judged by the end results (white paper registrations, event registrations etc..)

My mission in 2007 is to educate, educate and educate along with the constant push to increase and make our efforts better.  Curious as to how you would rank your email marketing efforts.  Drop me a line and let me know.

