Paperless Insurance….what the….?

Paperless insurance…surely you are kidding me right? How many of you have had to fill out something in insurance, in triplicate and make like a bazillion copies of it? How many of you would expect that the company on the other end has an entire warehouse of paper, mountains of paper, files upon files and keeps all of the paper company reps happy and fat in the wallet?

About a year or so ago, my wife’s insurance agency decided to go paperless. They are one of the largest insurance brokers in the state of Illinois and one of the most progressive I have seen when it comes to implementing technology. At first it sounded like a pain: take all of the existing paper files, scan everything in and save it. Sounds easy right? I don’t know about you, but I have been to her office about a dozen times in her 14 years of being there and have seen some of the files…..they were not small. Then if they write new business, they must take everything they collect and do it all over again. Its now Jan 2007, and everything seems to be running smoothly on their end.

I must say that I am quite impressed with them. They seem progressive enough to want to adapt to their ever changing marketplace and seem ready to handle it. I just hope that they have a great backup plan when it comes to all of that data 🙂

